The Elder Scrolls: Arena on Google Plus

I’ve done a series of Google+ posts about my experiences playing the first Elder Scrolls game, Arena. You can find them here using the G+ hashtag #craigplaysarena.  They’re kind of why I started a blog in the first place; I’ve been using Google+ as a pseudo-blog, but there’s no titling, linking’s a bit of a hassle, and you can only do one image per post. I’m sure that they’ll start stripping that stuff away as they realize that Google+ isn’t going to be a Facebook replacement and start embracing what it really is.  In the meantime, though…here we are.

It’s been really interesting. I’ve enjoyed Arena far more than I thought I would, and I’ve been a big fan of a lot of the dungeon designs. Sure, it looks dated, the opening dungeon is viciously difficult, and there isn’t even the faintest whiff of balance between classes. Get past that, though, and you find out why the series ended up becoming as huge as it did. Nearly twenty years later, it’s still a compelling game.

Eventually I’m going to try to transplant the G+ posts here. Haven’t decided whether it’ll be one monster post or a series of smaller ones. I’ll be following it up with stuff on Daggerfall, but I’m also going to start Skyrim at the same time. I figure doing a Daggerfall/Skyrim comparison thing might be really fun.  They’ll probably be done simultaneously, but I’ll try to add a bit more content here. I’d LOVE to do videos, but that’s probably a ways off. But, hey, you never know.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

